Friday, January 1, 2010

16 Dimensions

As stated here on many occasions my integral approach to development is largely based on holistic mathematical consideration of 1-dimensional, 2-dimensional, 4-dimensional and 8-dimensional interpretation in development.

However it may help a little to say a little in this context about my Stages of Development approach.

Overall I include 7 Bands in development (each of which comprises 3 main Levels, comprised of a unique holistic mathematical structure). So we have 21 main Levels in all.

The first Lower Band is largely concerned with overcoming confusion with respect to the three central polarities in experience. L3 (Lower 3) relates to initial differentiation of the diagonal polarities (form and emptiness); L2 then entails additional differentiation with respect to the vertical polarities (whole and part); finally L1 relates to further differentiation with respect to horizontal polarities (internal and external).

Then with preliminary successful differentiation having taken place with respect to the three polarities the next Band is concerned with specialisation of linear (1-dimensional) interpretation (where the three polarities are clearly separated in experience).

As we have seen this is the very approach that characterises conventional scientific understanding.

In truth development largely plateaus with the Middle Band in Western culture.
However where authentic contemplative awareness unfolds, further Bands are required.

The third Band (Higher Band) relates to the unfolding of circular (intuitive) awareness.

The first level (H1) is concerned with 2-dimensional interpretation (where both internal and external aspects are now seen as dynamically complementary - and ultimately identical - in experience) The positive aspect is associated with periods of illumination whereas the negative (where substantial dynamic negation of phenomena occurs) is associated with corresponding periods of purgation!

The second level (H2) is concerned with the unfolding of 4-dimensional interpretation. Here whole and part in any context are qualitatively distinguished enabling their proper integration in experience. This leads to the realisation that all reality is properly complex (in holistic mathematical terms) with both real (analytic) and imaginary (holistic) aspects.

The third level (H3) relates to 8-dimensional interpretation (where now both form and emptiness are eventually united). This requires a very subtle form of appreciation where form is equally interpreted with respect to real and imaginary aspects (which has an alternative empty expression as null lines!)

For some time my mapping of development largely culminated at this point. Though I did include a later Radial Band, it was largely for completion purposes without being fully integrated with the earlier Bands.

However gradually I came to realise - that just as linear understanding has its own specialised expression with the Middle Band - that circular understanding has its own specialised expression with a further 4th Band (that I sometimes refer to as the Higher Middle Band). As well as allowing for a further refining in spiritual contemplative awareness, this Band also addresses a typical imbalance as between form and emptiness. Frequently the drive to unity is driven by the transcendent spiritual aspect in the desire to achieve emptiness (beyond all form). However the immanent aspect is equally important as the desire to see such emptiness as inherent in all form.

Once again a holistic mathematical appreciation of the Riemann Zeta Function led me to the realisation that the completion of this Band (with immanence and transcendence in equal balance) coincides with 16-dimensional development. This would also perfectly equate with the inclusion of immanence and transcendence as two additional fundamental polar opposites in experience.

So Radial Development proper only commerces in a mature sustainable manner (with 16-dimensional development). In my latest work, I include three additional Radial Bands (so that we have 21 main Levels in all).

To see a fuller explanation of this model, dealing in detail with the structures and states characteristic of each main level
See Stages of Development; Chaps 8 - 12.

No comments:

Post a Comment